Return

blood-orange-moon

I always thought I’d return
one day, maybe after I’d finally

gotten things together
and had something to brag about,

some big story to tell—after
I’d made a name for myself and arrived.

Now it’s been 26 years
and of course I’ve nothing

much to show for it. A few
good gardens; the day I watched

a banana spider spin her web
from start to finish; that night

I spent sleepless and saw the moon
so large and orange and pretty

that I cried, wondering at it all;
a few lines of poetry strung out

on the pages of a life
still being written.

4 thoughts on “Return

  1. Aging is an interesting thing…..it’s not quite what I thought it would be when I imagined it 26 years ago…..you capture that so poignantly here. And I love the moon image you’ve used here….absolutely stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

