For Foy Lanier’s

For Three Word Wednesday, prompt words idle, pace, nagging. Also submitted to dVerse OpenLinkNight. Happy New Year to all!

For Foy Lanier’s
The only thing on tap
was Bud or Miller Lite,
sometimes served warm due
to a temperamental cooler;
bathroom stall doors
torn from their hinges
idled against the opposite wall
after some friendly fisticuffs.
The floor slanted hard
to the left, giving
a drunken pace even
to the sober, which we
mostly were, those times
we’d all meet after work to have
a few or a few too many, tapping
out cigarettes and telling lies
about when we were young.
Well before closing time
we’d leave Foy’s to fend for
itself, until we felt the nagging
urge again to drink to health,
good favor, to peace,
prosperity, happy times.
We’ve all gone our separate
ways by now, and today
I noticed Foy’s is just
an abandoned dusty field.
42 thoughts on “For Foy Lanier’s

  1. Interesting how people and places change over the years, isn't it? How the places about which we have some good memories eventually decay to dust…..as, I guess, we all will in time.

    Like

  2. Nostalgic memories of happier times, when people really believed “If it is not necessary to change, then it becomes necessary NOT to change!”. Some fool will talk about 'progress',but modern day 'progress' is nearly all retrograde steps – reducing the joys of life for the sake of 'political correctness' or state 'grannyism'! On my last visit to England I went to my favourite 500 year old pub with my son. In order to enjoy a cigarette with our pints, we had to cram, with 43 other smokers, into a small back garden area, whilst inside the pub 2 smug looking non-smokers tried to make social sense of an empty room. At least Foy's reverted to nature.

    Like

  3. the passage of time, it gets us all…and those we once were tight with move on…and the places we hung get tore down to put up a wal mart…or a stop light…change hits us when we least expect….happy new year man…

    Like

  4. A happy marriage of place and time rolled up in a beautiful picture of dust and ash…like incense in a sacred place that nestles in your soul and head..i hope we all have a Foy Lanier's to go back to..

    Like

  5. ah — looking back it never seems to be the same, no matter if it really changed so much or if we just have the feel that it changed– here's to a happy new year..

    Like

  6. I think I may have visited that place or even worked there under another name! Great write……Thank you for the reflection od days gone by. Put to prose extremely well. Love it!

    Like

  7. I like the reflections of days past. And sometimes I don't want to visit those places in real life as some of them have fallen on a sad state ~ I would rather remember them in my mind ~

    Cheers ~

    Like

  8. Thanks Leigh–a big Amen to your comment. I'm not much on what we call progress either. I guess I'm well on my way to becoming a grouchy old fart that cannot give up on old ways!

    Like

  9. Thanks Laurie–when telling my stories, I try to layer in some symbolism just under the surface. This way it can be read straightforward, or at the deeper level. Happy New Year!

    Like

  10. Thanks Beth–every town needs a Foy's. I remember one barmaid's name, but it was Lacie, not Beth. She was a cute little thing, except for her tremendous mustache.

    Like

  11. nostalgia and sawdust with a bit of spit thrown in . . .
    your simple style is V effective and must appeal to the universal
    reader . . . i know this place and these people and i have these feelings too . . . nice work nico! great timing too

    all the best and cheers (chink)

    Like

  12. you captured a nice slice of nostalgia here. calling up memories superbly. You know, I never heard of Foys. I lived in Savannah about a year in total, two times six months each stint. Love that place, still disappointed I never could get into Lady and Sons though, but definitely a place I'd like to revisit again. Strong piece here.

    Like

  13. Your piece brought back so many memories of finding myself and losing it at the same time. I could smell the beer, the fags and the john! What a great piece of nostalgia.

    Like

  14. Thanks Ann. Not only are these kinds of changes happening outside of us, but we are continually making internal changes, shifts in perspective, etc. Sometimes in the process we lose things that should be saved.

    Like

  15. Thanks Arron–I am always striving to tap into the universal experience, it's nice to hear that I managed something close to that with this poem. Cheers!

    Like

  16. Thanks Fred, you're always welcome to come on back! Foy's was actually a little outside of Savannah, on Hwy. 80. No more Foy's, but I'm sure we kind find something to make your stay enjoyable.

    Like

  17. I know it–however, the last time I went to a bar for a drink after work, everybody (and I mean everybody) in there was on their damn phones. Couldn't get a decent conversation for love or money. What were they all doing, updating their FB profiles or writing poetry for their blogs?

    Like

Leave a Reply

